Meet the 2018 SHOMOs judges

SHOMOs awards 2018

Meet the people making the tough decisions at the UK Money Blogger annual awards.

When I set up the SHOMO awards in 2015 I wanted them to be the best they could be. And that meant they needed to be very different from other blogging awards.

Apart from one category (the People’s Choice), the shortlist and winners aren’t decided by a popular vote. Instead a panel of judges look at the finalists and pick the best blog. Yes the BEST BLOG. Which is as it should be.

It’s also really important to avoid personal bias and cronyism. So each award panel is made up of four judges – one blogger, one personal finance journalist, one sponsor and Karyn Fleeting (Aka Miss Thrifty), who co-chairs the awards with me.

So as a thank you for taking part and putting in the time to pick the winners and runner-ups for all 18 categories, here’s a list of all the blogger and journalist judges. Please do check out their work!


Cat Plummer – Penny Wise Life Rich

Eileen Adamson – Your Money Sorted

Emma Drew – Emma Drew

Emma Maslin – The Money Whisperer

Hollie Hutchinson – Thrifty Mum 

Jane Berry – Shoestring Cottage

Jo and Leisa Creed – Penny Pincher’s Paradise

Laura Light – Savings 4 Savvy Mums

Or Goren – Cord Busters

Vicky Eves – I Beat Debt

Journalists / Bloggers

Charlotte Burns – Lotty Earns / The Money Advice Service

Faith Archer – Much More With Less / Freelance

Kara Gammell – Your Best Friend’s Guide to Cash / Freelance


Ed Greaves – Deputy Editor, Moneywise

Emma Munbdoh – Personal Finance Correspondent, The Mirror

Georgie Frost – Broadcaster

Helen Knapman – Digital Deputy Consumer Editor, The Sun

Kalpana Fitzpatrick – Finance Editor, Heart Magazines (inc Good Housekeeping & Red)

Kevin Peachey – Personal Finance Reporter, BBC

Sue Hayward – Freelance

SHOMOs co-chairs

Andy Webb – Be Clever With Your Cash

Karyn Fleeting – Miss Thrifty


One representative from each of our sponsors










Rathbone Unit Trust Management Limited

Sainsbury’s Bank



Zeek Marketplace


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *