2019 SHOMO awards – Finalists revealed

SHOMOs money bloggers awards

The finalists for the 2019 UK Money Bloggers’ annual awards – the SHOMOs – have been decided, and we can reveal the name of the blogs competing for 12 of the 17 awards.

The winners will be announced at our annual conference in London on September 14th 2019.

The 2019 Shortlists

You can read more about each individual category and the nomination criteria here. Finalists in each category are listed in alphabetical order.

Money Blogger of the Year, Sponsored by Quidco.

There’s no shortlist yet for this category. The judges will pick a winner from all the winning blogs.


Reader’s Choice Award, Sponsored by PensionBee

All 76 blogs which were entered for the awards are contenders for the People’s Choice, voted for by the public. The six blogs with the highest number of votes make up the shortlist.


Best Personal Finance Blog, Sponsored by Yolt


Best Money Making Blog, Sponsored by Vanguard


Best Money Saving Blog, Sponsored by Experian


Best New Money Blog, Sponsored by PriceSearcher


Best Family & Money Blog, Sponsored by Habito


Best Investing Blog, Sponsored by Vanguard


Best Frugal & Thrift Blog, Sponsored by Widgetmaker


Best Frugal Food BlogSponsored by Mediavine


Best Specialist Money Blog, in association with the Vulnerability Registration Service


Best Money Podcast, Sponsored by Rathbones


Best Money Influencer, Sponsored by Habito


Best Money Micro-Influencer,


Best Charity, Company or Brand Money Blog, Sponsored by PaySend


Blog Post of the Year, Supported by PayPlan

Be Clever With Your Cash – Cheap chicken isn’t something to shout about
Bronni – How much does it cost to buy a house?
Debt Camel – Guarantor loans – why guarantors & borrowers need extra protection
Lotty Earns – WARNING: Bee Loans recommended in Facebook groups? Don’t get stung
The Humble Penny – The Real Cost Of Raising A Child
Thrifty Mum – 10 things to do if you’re going to be homeless


SHOMOS success of the Year, 

Francesca Henry at From Pennies to Pounds
Encouraging people to take control of their money with her budget planner product; starting people off on their journey of making extra money with the free money-making email course.
Hollie Hutchinson at ThriftyMum.Com
Successfully blogging her way through a challenging time in her life, and finding the balance between her drive to help others and her need to maintain some privacy. Hollie got into debt, found herself homeless, became a single mum, got divorced and is now saving for a new house again.
Pete Matthew at Meaningful Money
Successfully launching his book, The Meaningful Money Handbook. Managing an “incredible” Facebook Group: Meaningful Money Community: “the most friendly group with a hive of like-minded people who are non-judgemental and helpful.” Taking his podcast from strength to strength. Giving money and business guidance. “He is an inspiration.”
Andy Webb at Be Clever With Your Cash
Successfully expanding his digital empire to television, starring as the resident money expert in multiple series of Shop Smart Save Money on Channel 5.
Sara Williams at Debt Camel
Playing a role in the demise of payday lender Wonga, and continuing to guide and support her loyal readers through the process of claiming compensation for their mis-sold loans.
UKMB for Reverse Advent Calendar Campaign Another smash hit for our blogging community.

How the shortlists were decided

Bloggers and readers could all nominate any independent blogs for whichever categories they wanted. All those longlisted for a category were checked for eligibility and split into four groups. The chair of the SHOMO award, Karyn Fleeting (Miss Thrifty) was joined by three different members of the SHOMOs committee – all bloggers – for each category.

This year, the commitee included Emma Maslin, Lynn James, Or Goren, Kirsty Holden, Catherine Morgan, Eileen Adamson, Hollie Hutchinson, Katy Stevens and Naomi Willis.

To ensure independence, committee members could not shortlist a category they were longlisted for, and Karyn withdrew her blogs from contention on all categories.

This year, Awards co-chair Andy Webb was involved only in the planning and logistics of the event itself and did not take part in shortlisting.

Finalists badge

Finalist are welcome to download this badge for their blogs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *